Artist: Lu Shen (1477-1544)
Date: Ming (1368-1644)
Dimensions: Height 24.3 cm, Width 27.1 cm
Material: Ink on paper
Lu Shen (1477-1544), also known by his zi (designated name) Ziyuan and his hao (literary name) Yanshan, was a native of Shanghai and rose to the Director of Zhanshifu (department of assisting the crown prince). Adept in poetry and calligraphy, he was a key figure in the Songjiang calligraphers' circle in the Ming dynasty. Lu Shen's ancestral home and family cemetery are located at today's Lujiazui, a region that obtained its name because of the Lu family. Yao Yun, to whom this scroll was written for, was also known by his zi Shiwang. Yao was a good friend of Lu Shen and the teacher of Lu Shen's son Lu Ji. This album contains Lu Shen's poems composed during a two-day trip with friends in Shanghai county. Place names such as "Jing'an Temple", "Luzi (Pu)", "Tangqiao", "Nanxi", "Wuliqiao", and "Shatou" show their itinerary from five centuries ago. These places are now the city's central urban area where the Oriental Pearl Tower and the Bund are located.